Joints

Manipulating a rigged skeleton is a strange experience. The movement of the human anatomy seems so complex and organic yet when rotating joints and interpolating motion it is surprising how quickly a convincing gesture can be formed, even if it is still easy to conjure a gesticulating mess from some dark depth of the uncanny valley.

For a technical arts module I have been working in Maya 2015 to learn the basics of scripting and rigging. These topics fascinate me and the interface between art and maths is where I would love to find myself working in the years to come. A small script I created veering away from the module tutorial would randomise control joints in order to create weird and brilliant monsters. Scripting is extremely powerful and I am excited to explore it further.

Physics is also a strange and wonderful thing. Very simple simulations can produce mesmerising results. Having spent the passed few months in Unity adjusting the way a sphere rolls around it makes it clear how easy the mind is to entertain. The prototype has the player roll a ball around with a skull floating ahead of it. The skull will bob up and down and the plan is to begin randomising its proportions and features.

ball-joint

The promise of being able to rig characters and manipulate them in a physics environment makes my thoughts go wild with possibility. Hopefully combining these two skills will create some fun and surprising experiences. I just returned from the Charged Hearts game jam where so many interesting iterations on a simple theme were created.

Our game was almost an anti-rhythm game where the beat of various hearts were dictated by your success and cooperation (players could join using QR Codes found around the exhibition). It is the first jam I have participated in as part of an exhibition and I cannot wait for another. It is definitely the most fun and collaborative I have felt in a while.

